Kidney Disease and Alcohol

red-wine-bottle

I used to love to have an occasional glass of wine (or two.)  Usually on the weekends.  I especially like a good Merlot with a slice of pizza.   But, with kidney disease, alcohol makes the kidneys work harder.

I remember one time I ignored this fact and had three glasses of wine the day before I had my monthly renal panel blood test.   My BUN (blood urea nitrogen) went up by 30% and my GFR (granular filtration rate) went down by 4 points after remaining somewhat steady.

No matter how much I think one drink will not harm me, in the long run, I need to do everything I can to preserve my kidneys.

If you look online you might find conflicting reports about kidneys and alcohol,  even my former nephrologist said a few glasses of wine once in awhile wouldn’t bother me.   Trust me, it does.

This article asserts there doesn’t seem to be a connection between kidney decline and alcohol.

This article suggests a link between stroke, drinking, and kidney disease.

Today is a holiday weekend and I just bought my favorite, thin crust, pizza.   I have a glass of ice water next to me waiting for that first wonderful bite of pepperoni, tomato sauce, and cheese.  (I do cheat on pizza once in awhile even though the potassium amount is high, I watch myself for the rest of the day and lower my intake of the mineral.)

The thought flickers through my head… “This pizza really needs a glass of wine to go with it.”   I come back to my senses and realize despite the temptation, I want to be around for as long as I can.  Don’t drink, don’t do it. Not even once.

This entry was posted in Alcohol and Kidney Disease and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kidney Disease and Alcohol

  1. you are very strong.

    Like

    • Andrea T says:

      Thanks so much for the compliment but the only way I get through is by prayer. I can’t do it on my own and it’s the only hope I have left. Thanks so much for visiting my blog.

      Like

Leave a Reply

